I’m No Chef, But Let Me Cook

Your Travel Tribe LLC
2 min readJan 29, 2024

--

As I settle back into my regular schedule, meal planning is once again a key part of my routine. It’s how I eat healthy without spending all day in the kitchen and high-protein meals are usually my focus.

My breakfasts this week include egg cups with cottage cheese and chicken sausage, chia pudding cups with protein powder and oat milk, topped with blueberry Greek yogurt, fruit, granola, hemp seeds, and smoothies loaded with my favorite plant protein.

For dinners, I’m enjoying seared salmon salads packed with garbanzo beans, almonds, and a mix of vegetables like Brussels sprouts. But the real highlight is my lunchtime meal: my take on chicken taco soup that I’ve adapted into a hearty chili, complete with protein tortilla chips. Here’s my go-to recipe.

Ingredients:
• 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
• 1 tablespoon hot chili powder
• 1 tablespoon regular chili powder
• 1 ½ teaspoons ground cumin
• 1 teaspoon sea salt
• 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
• ½ teaspoon ground paprika
• ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
• ¼ teaspoon onion powder
• ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
• ¼ teaspoon dried oregano
• 1 can (15 oz) sweet corn, salt and sodium-free
• 1 can (15 oz) black beans, salt and sodium-free, drained and rinsed
• 1 can (15 oz) navy beans, salt and sodium-free, drained and rinsed
• 1 can (15 oz) tomatoes, salt and sodium-free
• 2 cups water
• 2 cups quinoa

Toppings (optional):
• Jalapeños
• Green onions
• Shredded cheese
• Sour cream

Instructions:
1. Place the chicken breasts in the crockpot.
2. Combine the hot chili powder, regular chili powder, cumin, sea salt, black pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, and dried oregano. Then sprinkle this spice mix over the chicken breasts. You can adjust it to your taste adding more if you deem it necessary.
3. Add the cans of sweet corn, black beans, navy beans, and tomatoes to the crockpot.
4. Pour in 2 cups of water.
5. Cook on high for 4 hours.
6. After 4 hours, stir in 2 cups of quinoa. Continue cooking until the quinoa is done and the chili reaches your desired thickness. The quinoa helps with thickening it.
7. Serve hot, garnished with your choice of toppings like jalapeños, green onions, cheese, and sour cream.

Nutritional Note:
This chili is a powerhouse of protein. With chicken, and plant-based protein sources like quinoa, black beans, and navy beans, you’re looking at a significant protein intake. A single serving can add a well-rounded and satisfying protein boost to your diet.

--

--